EGAA 4 – Depression

Contents:

Sorbitol 75 %
Magnesium-tri-silicate 13 %
Spice extracts on carriers 12 %
contains Sesame oil
Silicon dioxide
Spice extracts
68,8 %
29,0 %
2,2 %
contains Nutmeg
Basil
Mugwort
Black Pepper
Coriander
Saffron
Mustard
Cinnamon
63,0%
22,3 %
9,1 %
3,2 %
0,5 %
0,2 %
0,2 %
0,2 %

Case studies

EGAA-4-trial with 14 people with light to middle depressions.
Egaa 4 - Pic 1 (Englisch)Assessment due to scaling according to Hamilton, with 24 questions. The mean improvement was 10.4 points. Only one person did not improve. 10 people were below 10 points (without depression), 4 persons had light depressions. Only 1 person was without any improvement.

Mechanism of action

The term “depression” is commonly used in the vernacular to describe a temporary depressed mood, when a person may feel sad or “down”. It is characterized by a lack of serotonin, dopamine, γ-amino butyric acid (GABA) and endorphins and high levels of monoamine oxidase (MAO) and glutamate in the brain. An important monoamine that lacks or is low is catecholamine. An immunological impact is discussed (Müller, Schwarz 2007) and a positive effect of COX-2 inhibitors could be demonstrated (Müller et al. 2006). The connection with the type of immune reaction (TH1 or TH2 modulated) may be via the hypothalamic-pituitary-adrenal axis (HPA-axis).

According to Pall (Pall 2007; Zong et al. 2008) aetiology of some diseases like multiple chemical sensitivity (MCS), chronic fatigue syndrome (CSF), fibromyalgia and post-traumatic stress syndrome (PTS) (but perhaps also rheumatic diseases, inflammatory arteriosclerosis, multiple sclerosis, Alzheimer and Parkinson disease) can be traced back to a vicious cycle. Starting with pesticides (chlororganic and organophosphorus compounds, pyrethroides) heavy metals, aluminium ions, organic solvents, mould, physical or psychic stress but also bacterial or viral infections at the end always NMDA-receptor is activated resulting in an influx of Ca++-ions into the cell. These calcium ions activate NF-к-B, starting an inflammatory reaction but also activate or induce the formation of iNOS (inducible nitric oxide synthase). iNOS produces NO (nitric oxide) that together with reactive oxygen species (ROS) forms peroxinitrite (ONOO-). Peroxinitrite inhibits respiratory chain in mitochondria (fatigue symptoms) and causes damages by lipid peroxidation. However it also activates NMDA-receptor. By this way a vicious cycle is established. By activating the degradation of serotonin and its precursor tryptophan by IDO (indoleamine 2,3 dioxygenase) in microglia cells followed by kynurenin monooxygenase in major depression (Müller, Schwarz 2007) quinolic acid is formed, an agonist for the NMDA-receptor. By this way another vicious cycle can be established, the well-known black hole of depressive patients.

The effect of specific spices on moods is well known popular knowledge. In many trials for a lot of spices this had been tested, often in Asian countries, where spices have a much longer tradition than in Europe.

Nutmeg (Myristica fragrans):
Nutmeg contains about 4 % myristic acid, which can be responsible to its antidepressant effect (Dhingra, Sharma 2006) (alone or in combination with other ingredients).
Basil (Ocimium basilicum):
Basil contains ursolic acid that inhibits cyclooxygenase-2 transcription (Subbbaramaiah et al. 2000).
Mugwort (Artemisia vulgaris):
Five flavonoides of mugwort inhibit monoamino oxidase, resulting in an inhibition of dopamine degradation (Lee et al. 2006).
Coriander seeds (Coriandrum sativum):
Coriander seeds inhibit the degradation of GABA (Emamghoreishi et al. 2005) resulting in an anxiolytic effect.
Black Pepper (Piper nigrum):
Black pepper (or its active ingredient capsaicin) is known for its anticonvulsant effect (Abita et al. 1993) resulting from a fivefold increase of dopamine in the carotid body (McQueen, Mir 1984). It also inhibits NMDA-receptors.
Saffron (Crocus sativus):
In a double-blind randomized trail saffron could show its effect as an antidepressant in mild and moderate depression (Shahin et al. 2008).
Cinnamon (Cinnamomum verum):
By cinnamaldehyde from cinnamon catecholamine concentration increases (Kinmura 1968; Harada et al. 1982) resulting in two effects. One effect is an inhibition of inflammatory reactions and the other one a decrease in nitric oxide production by iNOS.
Magnesium:
Magnesium ions (Mg++) but not chelated magnesium acts as an antagonist to NMDA-receptor (Ebey, Ebey 2006; Sun et al. 2005).
Mustard (Sinapis alba):
inhibits like onions by sinigrin and sinalbin the serotonin re-uptake (Sakakibara et al. 2008).

Egaa 4 - Pic 2 (Englisch)Fig.: inhibition of degradation of dopamine and GABA

Egaa 4 - Pic 3 (Englisch)Fig.: inhibition of serotonin re-uptake

Print Friendly

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

EGAA 4 – Depression

Inhaltsstoffe:

Sorbit 75 %
Magnesiumtrisilikat 13 %
Gewürzextrakte auf Träger 12 %
bestehend aus Sesamöl
Siliziumdioxid
Gewürzextrakte
68,8 %
29,0 %
2,2 %
bestehend aus Muskatnuss
Basilikum
Beifuss
Schwarzpfeffer
Koriander
Safran
Senf
Zimt
63,0%
22,3 %
9,1 %
3,2 %
0,5 %
0,2 %
0,2 %
0,2 %

Fallstudie

EGAA-4-Versuch mit 14 Probanden mit leichter bis mittlerer Depression

Egaa 4 - Pic 1Beurteilung nach der Hamiltonskala mit 24 Fragen. Im Mittel ergab sich eine Besserung um 10,4 Punkte. Bei 10 Personen kann die Depression als überwunden gelten (unter 10 Punkte), bei vier Probanden war sie nur noch leicht. Nur bei einer Probandin fand keine Besserung statt.

Wirkmechanismus

 

Umgangssprachlich wird der Begriff Depression verwendet um eine vorübergehende Niedergeschlagenheit zu beschreiben, wenn jemand sich schlecht fühlt, wenn er “down” ist. Biochemisch ist dieser Zustand durch einen Mangel an Serotonin, Dopamin, γ- Aminobuttersäure (GABA) und Endorphinen gekennzeichnet sowie durch zu viel an Monoaminoxidase (MAO) und Glutamat im Gehirn. Katecholamin ist dabei ein wichtiges Monoamin, das fehlen kann oder erniedrigt ist. Es wird auch ein Zusammenhang mit dem Immunsystem diskutiert (Müller, Schwarz 2007) wobei COX-2 Hemmer sich als wirkungsvolles Therapeutikum erwiesen (Müller et al. 2006). Die Verknüpfung mit der Art der Immunreaktion (TH1 oder TH2 moduliert) könnte über die Hypothalamus-Hypophysen-Nebennierenrinden-Achse erfolgen.

Nach Pall (Pall 2007; Zong et al. 2008) kann die Ätiologie einiger Krankheiten wie der multiplen Chemikalienempfindlichkeit (MCS), der chronischen Müdigkeit (CSF), der Fibromyalgie und dem posttraumatischen Stresssyndrom (PTS) (vielleicht aber auch von rheumatischen Erkrankungen, entzündlicher Arteriosklerose, multipler Sklerose, Alzheimer und Parkinson) auf einen Circulus viciosus zurückgeführt werden. Am Anfang stehen Pestizide (chlororganische und phosphororganische Verbindungen sowie Pyrethroide), Schwermetalle, Aluminium-Ionen, organische Lösungsmittel, Schimmelpilze, physischer oder psychischer Stress aber auch virale und bakterielle Infektionen. Am Ende wird in allen Fällen ein NMDA-Rezeptor aktiviert worauf Ca++-Ionen in die Zelle einströmen. Diese Kalzium-Ionen aktivieren NF-к-B wodurch eine Entzündungskaskade beginnt. Sie aktivieren oder induzieren aber auch die Bildung von iNOS (induzierbare Stickstoffmonoxidsynthase). iNOS erzeugt NO (Stickstoffmonoxid), welches zusammen mit Sauerstoffradikalen (ROS) Peroxinitrit (ONOO-) bildet. Peroxinitrit hemmt die Atmungskette in den Mitochondrien (Müdigkeit) und verursacht Schäden durch die Lipidperoxidation. Es aktiviert aber auch den NMDA-Rezeptor, wodurch sich ein Circulus viciosus aufbaut.

Durch die Förderung des Abbaus von Serotonin und seines Vorläufers Tryptophan durch IDO (Indolamine 2,3 Dioxygenase) in Mikrogliazellen und nachfolgend der Kynureninmonooxygenase bei manifester Depression (Müller, Schwarz 2007) bildet sich Chinolinsäure, ein Agonist des NMDA-Rezeptor. So kann sich ein anderer Teufelskreis aufbauen, das bekannte „schwarze Loch“ der Depressionspatienten.

Egaa 4 - Pic 2Abb.: Abbauhemmung von Dopamin und GABA

Egaa 4 - Pic 3Abb.: Hemmung des Serotonin Re-uptakes

Die Wirkung bestimmter Gewürze auf das Gemüt ist seit langem bekannt.
Für viele Gewürze liegen mittlerweile auch wissenschaftliche Untersuchungen vor, die sehr oft aus asiatischen Ländern stammen, wo Gewürze eine längere Tradition haben als in Europa.

Muskatnuss (Myristica fragrans):
Muskatnuss enthält etwa 4 % der Myristinsäure welche (allein oder zusammen mit anderen Stoffen) für ihren antidepressiven Effekt (Dhingra, Sharma 2006) verantwortlich ist.
Basilikum (Ocimium basilicum):
Basilikum enthält Ursinsäure welche die Transkription der Cyclooxygenase-2 hemmt (Subbaramaiah et al. 2000).
Beifuss (Artemisia vulgaris):
Fünf Flavonide des Beifusses hemmen die Monoaminooxidase wodurch der Abbau von Dopamin gehemmt wird (Lee etal. 2006).
Koriandersamen (Coriandrum sativum):
Koriander hemmt den Abbau von GABA (Emamghoreishi et al. 2005) was anxiolytisch wirkt.
Schwarzpfeffer (Piper nigrum):
Schwarzpfeffer (bzw. das darin enthaltene Capsaizin) ist für seinen antikonvulsivischen Effekt bekannt (Abita et al. 1993). Dies rührt von einer Erhöhung des Dopamins im Glomus caroticum um das fünffache her (McQueen, Mir 1984). Capsaizin hemmt auch den NMDA-Rezeptor.
Safran (Crocus sativus):
In einer randomsierten Doppelblindstudie erwies sich Safran als ein wirksames Antidepressivum in Fällen von leichter und mittlerer Depression (Shahin et al. 2008).
Zimt (Cinnamomum verum):
Die Konzentration an Katecholamin erhöht sich durch Zimtaldehyd (Kimura 1968; Harada et al. 1982) mit zwei Effekten. Zum einen werden Entzündungsreaktionen gehemmt und zum anderen die Bildung von Stickstoffmonoxid durch iNOS.
Magnesium:
Magnesiumionen (Mg++) nicht aber chelatisiertes Magnesium wirken als Antagonist des NMDA-Rezeptors (Eby, Eby 2006¸Sun et al. 2005).
Senf (Sinapis alba):
hemmt, ebenso wie Zwiebel über Sinigrin und Sinalbin den Serotonin Re-uptake (Sakakibara et al. 2008).
Print Friendly

Schreib einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind markiert *